005/365

My fish died today.

It should be insignificant in the grand scheme of things. After all, it’s just a pet fish – an oscar – somewhat useless and not even pretty.

But it was the last fish on Earth.

And no, I’m not exaggerating. As far as Science goes, the only movement in the planet’s seas are made by non-living causes.

The last mammal died a decade ago. The last reptile, two years after that. Even the stupid turtles are gone. Spiders are still around, though. Weirdly enough, they outlived roaches. I suspect they’ll be around a very long time.

The last human died a century ago. Apart from myself, of course.

And now the idiot fish died and all I’m left with are fucking spiders.

So, a piece of advice. Not that anyone is still around to heed it.

When the devil offers to grant you any wish, do not wish to live forever.

Leave a comment